Kappa Kappa Psi

Kappa Kappa Psi, National Honorary Band Fraternity, is a fraternal organization that promotes the advancement of college and university bands through dedicated service and support to bands, comprehensive education, leadership opportunities, and recognition for the benefit of its members and society. Kappa Kappa Psi operates primarily as a student service and leadership recognition group whose chief aim is to assist the Director of Bands in developing the leadership and enthusiasm that is required of his/her band. Our goals are to provide the band not only with organized and concentrated service activities, but to give our membership valid and wholesome experiences in organization, leadership, and social contacts. The honorary nature of membership is based on our premise that “it is an honor to be selected to serve” this band, its school of music, its sponsoring institution, and the cause of band music in the nation’s colleges and universities.

The Alpha Tau Chapter

In May of 1940, twenty-eight members of the University of Texas Longhorn Band, under the direction of Colonel George E. Hurt, petitioned the national office of Kappa Kappa Psi for a charter. The charter was granted, and the local chapter was given the name Alpha Tau Nu. Alpha Tau Nu started with twenty-eight members and five officers. After some time, the original chapter name was shortened to Alpha Tau, the chapter’s present name. Alpha Tau has steadily grown in size and strength with currently more than fifty actives. Alpha Tau is an integral part of the Longhorn Band and also serves an active role in the community by participating in various community outreach projects.

Executive Committee

President: Leonard LeGrand

Vice President of Membership (Cosmos): Annaliese Grassia

Vice President of Membership (Eclipse): Josh Churchill

Vice President of Service: Seth Coleman

Vice President of Finance: Jose Cervantes

Treasurer: Eric Estrada

Social Chair: Andy Heineman

Secretary: Emily Cook

Historian: Jonathan Rupert

Parliamentarian: Daniel Weber

District Representative: Christian Douglas

Fundraising Chair: Brock Bagelman

Webmaster: Albert Trevino